Landsat Missions

This site will be relocating soon!  Check out this HEADLINE for more details. 

What are the acquisition schedules for the Landsat satellites?

You are here


What are the acquisition schedules for the Landsat satellites?


Both Landsat 7 and Landsat 8 satellite orbit the Earth at an altitude of 705 kilometers (438 miles) in a 185-kilometer (115-mile) swath, moving from north to south over the sunlit side of the Earth in a sun synchronous orbit, following the World Reference System (WRS-2).   Each satellite makes a complete orbit every 99 minutes, completes about 14 full orbits each day, and crosses every point on Earth once every 16 days.

The satellites’ orbits are offset to allow 8-day repeat coverage of any Landsat scene area on the globe. Between the two satellites, more than 1,000 scenes are added to the USGS archive each day.

The satellites traveling on the descending (daytime) node from north to south cross the equator at 10:00 a.m. +/- 15 minutes (Landsat 7) and 10:11 a.m. +/- 15 minutes (Landsat 8) mean local time on each pass to provide maximum illumination with minimum water vapor (haze and cloud build-up).

The Landsat 8 and Landsat 7 satellites each acquire data in accordance with their respective Long Term Acquisition Plan (LTAP). Each LTAP directs the acquisition of Landsat scenes, using parameters such as seasonality, land definition, historical cloud cover, gain settings, and sun angle.

Landsat 8 Long Term Acquisition Plan (LTAP-8)
Landsat 7 Long Term Acquisition Plan (LTAP-7)

The Landsat acquisition schedules and calendars are available on the Landsat Acquisitions Web page.  


Landsat represents the world's longest continuously acquired collection of space-based moderate-resolution land remote sensing data. Four decades of imagery provides a unique resource for those who work in agriculture, geology, forestry, regional planning, education, mapping, and global change research. Landsat images are also invaluable for emergency response and disaster relief.


Contact Us

Landsat Updates

The Landsat Update is an informal communication tool, prepared periodically and distributed electronically to USGS Landsat partners, to provide information about Landsat activities and related topics of interest.

Accessibility FOIA Privacy Policies and Notices logo U.S. Department of the Interior | U.S. Geological Survey
Page Contact Information: Ask Landsat
Page Last Modified: 10/18/18 11:39 am