Landsat Missions

Landsat 8 Maneuvers

You are here

December 21, 2017 (DOY355): At approximately 5:25 am CST (11:25 UTC) Thursday, December 21, 2​0​17, Landsat 8 operations will be suspended for a short period of time during an orbit correction maneuver. No data will be acquired during this maneuver. Normal operations are expected to resume by 9:25 am CST (15:25 UTC) on Thursday, December 21, 2017. The Landsat Flight Operations Team are performing this maneuver to arrest Landsat 8's westward drift across its WRS-2 ground track. The enhanced westward drift is a result of an emergency Risk Mitigation Maneuver (RMM) that was performed on Saturday, 9 December 2017, to avoid object Defense Meteorological Satellite Program Debris (#29068).

April 29-30, 2014 (Satellite in Safehold Condition): On April 29, 2014 (DOY 120) at 05:44:13 UTC (11:44 pm CT April 28, 2014 9DOY 119), the Landsat 8 satellite entered a ‘safehold’ condition that suspended all data acquisitions. Normal acquisitions resumed shortly after 23:00 UTC (5:00 pm CT) on April 30, 2014 (DOY 121).

September 19-21, 2013 (Satellite in Safehold Condition): On September 19, 2013 (DOY 263) at 21:38 UTC (15:38 CT), the Landsat 8 satellite entered a ‘safehold’ condition that suspended all data acquisitions. Normal acquisitions resumed on September 21, 2013 (DOY 264).

 

About

Landsat represents the world's longest continuously acquired collection of space-based moderate-resolution land remote sensing data. Four decades of imagery provides a unique resource for those who work in agriculture, geology, forestry, regional planning, education, mapping, and global change research. Landsat images are also invaluable for emergency response and disaster relief.

 

Contact Us

Accessibility FOIA Privacy Policies and Notices

USA.gov logo U.S. Department of the Interior | U.S. Geological Survey
URL: https://landsat.usgs.gov
Page Contact Information: Ask Landsat
Page Last Modified: 04/25/18 01:57 pm
Sitemap